George F. Parry family volumes at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania

George F. Parry (1838-1886) of Bucks County, Pennsylvania, was one of the first veterinarians (and probably the first from Pennsylvania) to receive professional veterinary training in the United States. He graduated from the Boston Veterinary Institute in 1859, served as a veterinary surgeon with the 7th Pennsylvania Cavalry during the Civil War, and conducted a private practice in Newtown from shortly after the war until his death at age 48. George had at least two surviving siblings: Susan Parry (1826-1890), and Helen (or Helena) Parry (1829-1854). Another sister, Rachel, died in 1825. George married Sarah E. Hough and the couple had one daughter Helen, who was born about 1870. This collection contains primarily volumes from George F. Parry. Among the volumes are his student notebook, 1858-1859, from the Boston Veterinary Institute, three Civil War diaries, 1863-1865, which detail his veterinary work with army horses and his experience of military campaigns in Tennessee, Georgia; and Sixteen diaries, 1867-1886, and one ledger, 1874-1879, which document his civilian career as a veterinarian in Newtown after the war, as well as his personal life, farming, and occasionally current events such as the 1877 railroad strike. Also in the collection is one small family photo album that contains approximately 24 cartes de visite and 1 tintype, including two images of George Parry (one in army uniform) and two images of his daughter, Helen, as a small child. From his daughter Helen is one diary from 1884, which she wrote while a teenager. In it she discussed her attendance at school and church, social activities, family relationships, cash purchases, and other matters. There is also one unidentifed diary from 1898 from another family member or possibly Helen. In it is discussed the illnesses of several extended family members and others, some of whom died. Diphtheria is mentioned but other illnesses may have been involved as well. This collection is open for use at the Historical Society of Pennsylvania