Working Groups

The Consortium invites scholars to join our topical working groups for challenging and collegial discussion of interesting publications in their fields and of each others’ works-in-progress.

Each group meets monthly. All interested scholars are welcome to participate via online video conferencing.

To join a group:

  1. Log in, or create an account
  2. Click on a group below
  3. Click on the "Membership" tab and select "Request Group Membership"

Submit a discussion paper for one of the working groups.


Upcoming Meetings

Please set your timezone.

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 11:00 am EDT

 Peppers Ghost. The Archive & Performance with Bronwyn Lace and Anna Seiderer

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 2:00 pm EDT

Oceans Digital Humanities Round Table
Join us as a panel of historians shares their expertise, experiences, and insights in Digital Humanities.
Sean Fraga, USC Dornsife
Jonathan Galka, Harvard University
Anke Finger, University of Connecticut
Christine Peffer, H-Net Humanities and Social Sciences Online

Friday, July 26, 2024 12:00 pm EDT

Speaker:
Dr. Eyal Weinberg (Florida, US)
Historian of modern Latin America, with a focus on Brazil
Assistant Professor, Florida Atlantic University
 
Presentation:
"Medical Ethics, Health Struggles, and Family Planning in Cold War Brazil"
 
["Ética Médica, Lutas pela Saúde e Planejamento Familiar no Brasil durante a Guerra Fria"].
 
(The lecture will be in English)
 

Friday, August 16, 2024 12:00 pm EDT

Speaker:
Mikhail Konashev
 
Presentation:
"On Brazil and Brazilians in Dobzhansky's Diary."
 
 

Tuesday, August 20, 2024 2:00 pm EDT

Alison Glassie, Northeastern University

Thursday, September 12, 2024 10:00 am EDT

Guillermo Pupo Pernet (University of Arkansas): Achiote: Painting the Town Red

Tuesday, September 17, 2024 2:00 pm EDT

Lynn Nyhart, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Monday, September 23, 2024 11:00 am EDT

Gene Kritsky

Tuesday, October 15, 2024 2:00 pm EDT

Max Chervin Bridge, Brown University

Monday, October 28, 2024 11:00 am EDT

Tasha Fijke-Epstein

Tuesday, November 19, 2024 2:00 pm EST

Anna Guasco, University of Cambridge

Monday, November 25, 2024 11:00 am EST

 
Caleb Shelburne (Department of the History of Science, Harvard University) will present "Leeches for the ‘Sick Man of Europe’: Science and the Environment in the Ottoman Leech Industry, 1830-1870," followed by a discussion.
 

Tuesday, January 21, 2025 2:00 pm EST

Katharine Anderson, York University

Monday, January 27, 2025 11:00 am EST

Tuomas Rasalnen

Tuesday, February 18, 2025 2:00 pm EST

David McCaskey, University of California, Riverside, "Net Losses: The Failures and Successes of Trawling in French Indochina"

Monday, February 24, 2025 11:00 am EST

Leah Mahmut

Tuesday, March 18, 2025 2:00 pm EDT

Derek Nelson, Everett Community College

Monday, March 24, 2025 11:00 am EDT

Luisa Reis Castro

Tuesday, April 15, 2025 2:00 pm EDT

Zi Yun Huang, University of Chicago

Monday, April 28, 2025 11:00 am EDT

Erica Fischer